I’ve been working through Chapter D1 of MS221 for the last couple of weeks, and while it’s been enjoyable, I haven’t really gotten into the subject as much as I expected to. I’ve been looking forward to learning about complex numbers for ages (I’ve even got M337, the Level 3 complex analysis course, pencilled in as one of my possible future courses), but for some reason I just haven’t been able to get excited about the material in D1.

Still, I’ll have another chance to get into complex numbers next year – there seems to be a section about them in the introductory block of M208, which is available on OpenLearn here. So hopefully by the time I return to the topic next February I’ll be able to develop a bit more enthusiasm for it!

I’m really looking forward to M208, I can’t wait to get started on it. I had a look on the OU Despatch Schedules website out of curiosity, and it looks like the 2009 presentation of M208 had their course materials shipped out in early December 2008, so with any luck I’ll be able to get my M208 books before the end of the year. It’d be wonderful to have something chunky to get my teeth into over the winter this year – last year I only had M257 to do, and to be honest I found myself getting quite restless. It seems a shame to have those extra days off work over Christmas, without any substantial OU work to spend them on!

