M366 is a very strange course. I haven’t really enjoyed reading the course texts themselves, but the assignments are much more interesting. I spent ages fiddling around with the rabbits simulation for TMA02, and I’m finding the neural network experiments in TMA03 even more rewarding. Yes, I’m one of those weirdos who enjoys collecting and analysing data – so compiling the big network performance tables and assessing the accuracy of the perceptrons in Questions 1 & 3 was brilliant fun for me.

At the moment I’m working through Question 4, the one about self-organising maps, but unfortunately I’ve not been able to get my SOM to work properly so far – I’ve no idea why, but JavaNNS just doesn’t respond when I click the “Learn All” button to train the network. I’m probably missing something obvious, so I’ve emailed my tutor to see if he can figure out what’s going wrong – and in the meantime I guess I’m taking a bit of an enforced break. Can’t wait to get back to it, though!

It’s such a weird feeling – in the space of a week, I’ve gone from complaining that M366 feels like a second job (while I was reading through Block 4), to being so eager to get back to my TMA03 experiments that I find myself daydreaming about it during my actual job! I hope this means that I’ll enjoy the exam just as much…

UPDATE: Victory! I’ve finally managed to get my SOM for Question 4 working – reinstalling JavaNNS seems to have done the trick (but I still have no idea what caused the problem in the first place). Now, on to Question 5!

