I’ve somehow managed another 99%, hooray! It’s a welcome confidence-boost, since my M257 revision isn’t going particularly well at the moment. I’ve been doing the last couple of past papers this week, and although I’m not making any huge mistakes, I get the feeling that I just don’t understand the subject matter well enough to do a good job in the exam. It’s mainly the “explain/describe” questions that are the problem; if only the whole exam was made up of “write some code” questions!

The Part 1 questions for the previous Java course, M255, were much easier – the same kind of subjects, but they were multiple choice questions, so I didn’t have to worry about wording my answers coherently. Still, I suppose I can’t expect to be coddled with tick-the-box questions all the way through my OU career!

The other problem I’m having with the past papers is much more easily solved – writer’s cramp! My hand aches like crazy after a couple of pages of writing at the moment, so I’m going to have to build the muscles up a lot over the next couple of weeks. So far I’ve been doing most of my M257 notes on the computer, but I’m going to switch to paper note-taking for this last stretch of revision. A bit wasteful in terms of paper, I suppose, but hopefully it’ll prevent my hand from seizing up like a claw halfway through the exam!

