As I’d hoped, the course website for M366 has opened today, and so I’ve been able to download the TMA01 document and get started on Question 1. This first question is all about describing concepts from the Block 1, so it feels very much like jumping in at the deep end! I’m still not sure whether I’m even thinking in the right way for this course, let alone writing in the right way, but I suppose I won’t know for sure until I get my first assignment feedback (which won’t be for quite some time, since the cut-off date for this is 14/04/09).

On the other hand, I should be able to get a rough idea of how good or bad my understanding of these topics is from the course forums, which are already open. I’m generally a bit reluctant to post on FirstClass forums, but I do quite enjoy reading along with the discussions that go on there. Except during exam revision time, when everything gets a bit frantic!

I’m having some trouble putting together a study schedule now that I’ve got three courses on the go. I’ve had a similar course-load before, back in the summer of 2008, but since those were all programming courses it was fairly easy to organise my study sessions; everything seemed to take roughly the same amount of time, so it was a very regular, steady process. This time around, I’ve got a programming course (M257), a maths course (MS221) and a weird wordy course (M366), so I feel like I’m trying to tessellate three very different shapes – I’m sure they’ll fit together, it’s just a question of how!

