M366 is proving to be a very different experience to the computing courses I’ve done before, and in some ways I’m feeling out of my element. It’s not that the material is difficult or impenetrable, but that I’m not exactly sure what to do with it. My previous computing courses were mainly about doing and making stuff, but M366 seems to be about understanding and explaining things; for this reason, my unease with the course is giving me a creeping fear that I really am just an oompa-loompa of computing.

On the other hand, I’m enjoying the material on predicate logic in Block 2 very much, so I can’t be that hopeless with abstract concepts. I really loved the units about logic in M263, so I was very happy to see the topic mentioned in M366; if only as a prelude to the bit about semantic networks, which looks very interesting in its own right.

So it’s not all bad, despite the occasional nagging doubt that I should have gone for M359, the relational databases course, instead. I’m the kind of person who always worries that they haven’t picked the optimal course of action (perhaps AI solutions for optimisation problems should be my specialty!), so I’m guessing that if I had chosen M359 I’d be writing a blog post right now about how I should have gone for M366 instead…

Anyway, I think I’ll feel a lot more comfortable with the course once I’ve got my hands on the first TMA document, so that I can get a clear idea of what I’m going to be assessed on. I think the course website is due to open tomorrow, so with any luck I’ll be able to download TMA01 by this time tomorrow! In the meantime, I think a good way of practising the “describe and explain” skills mentioned in the learning outcomes would be to inflict some mini-lectures about the M366 material on Alex – he did make the mistake yesterday of asking me what predicate logic is, so he does kind of have it coming…

