Alex and I have both been busy with TMAs this week, so the weekend seems to have passed in an intensely-studious blur. At the moment I have quite a few days where I can barely manage simple day-to-day stuff, so whenever I have an episode of prolonged lucidity I tend to seize the moment and do as much TMA work as I can! I like to leave blog posts for those not-so-lucid moments 😉


The original Simon handheld game, which sounds much less forgiving of failure than our M257 Simon game

The original Simon handheld game, which sounds much less forgiving of failure than our M257 Simon game

Today I finished my first draft of TMA02, which didn’t seem a great deal harder than TMA01; maybe it just seems easier in contrast to the bonkers chemistry stuff that Alex is doing, but there was a lot more hand-holding than I expected in this assignment. Not that I expect to get a perfect score, of course, I’m sure there are plenty of opportunities to drop marks along the way!

Some of the TMA projects were a bit bizarre, especially the one involving a scrolling marquee message display for the Ghan. There was also the ubiquitous animated ball question – this time a growing/shrinking ball rather than a bouncing one, but pleasantly familiar nevertheless.

My favourite question, though, was the one involving the “Simon” memory game, which seems to be based on the handheld electronic game of the same name. I do like the slogan which was apparently used for the Simon handheld:

Simon’s a computer, Simon has a brain, you either do what Simon says or else go down the drain.

We should have used that for the “game over” message in our Java version!

